Bonnechere Caves - Fossilshttp://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/There are different types of fossils that can be seen at the caves! Under a hill of limestone, said by geologists to have been the bottom of a tropical sea 500 million years ago, the Caves present a weird and wonderful sight. Stalactites, or rock icicles formed at the rate of one cubic inch in 150 years, hang from the ceiling and the...]]>Thu, 18 May 2017 3:09:32 -0700en-us<![CDATA[Geological Time Chart]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/geological-time-chart/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/geological-time-chart/Fri, 09 May 2014 8:44:27 -0700The limestone you walk through when you visit the Bonnechere Caves was deposited as layers of mud and silt during the Ordovician time period. The Ordovician is thought to have been somewhere between 400 and 500 milion years ago. That took place before the development or evolution of the fish and well before dinosaurs!!

]]>
<![CDATA[Fossils]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/Thu, 08 May 2014 12:12:39 -0700There are different types of fossils that can be seen at the caves!

Under a hill of limestone, said by geologists to have been the bottom of a tropical sea 500 million years ago, the Caves present a weird and wonderful sight. Stalactites, or rock icicles formed at the rate of one cubic inch in 150 years, hang from the ceiling and the handiwork of nature is enhanced by electric lights. Entombed in the rock and preserved forever can be seen fossils of coral and sea creatures alive long before the age of the Dinosaurs. Millions of years in the making, the Bonnechere Caves are a thrill for the sightseer.

]]>
<![CDATA[Curled Shelled Cephalopod]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/curled-shelled-cephalopod/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/curled-shelled-cephalopod/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:49:47 -0700<![CDATA[Straight Shelled Cephalopod]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/straight-shelled-cephalopod/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/straight-shelled-cephalopod/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:49:33 -0700<![CDATA[Brachiopods]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/brachiopods/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/brachiopods/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:47:30 -0700<![CDATA[Crinoid Rings]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/crinoid-rings/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/crinoid-rings/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:47:18 -0700<![CDATA[Gastropods]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/gastropods/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/gastropods/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:47:02 -0700<![CDATA[Trace Fossil]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/trace-fossil/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/trace-fossil/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:46:45 -0700<![CDATA[Horned Coral]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/horned-coral/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/horned-coral/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:46:30 -0700<![CDATA[Rugose Colonial]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/rugose-colonial/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/rugose-colonial/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:46:17 -0700<![CDATA[Honeycomb Coral]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/honeycomb-coral/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/honeycomb-coral/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:46:02 -0700<![CDATA[Pelecypod]]>http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/pelecypod/http://www.bonnecherecaves.com/fossils/pelecypod/Thu, 08 May 2014 11:45:49 -0700